Alabama Summary Distribution of Small Estates
Alabama has no non-court small estate affidavit. Summary distribution under the Revised Alabama Small Estates Act is a court petition and probate judge order, with no bond required. The value test is a formula, not a flat cap: the small estate amount equals the combined homestead allowance, exempt property, and family allowance, as adjusted under the consumer price index formula. An order may not issue until 30 days have elapsed since publication and 30 days have elapsed since the Alabama Medicaid Agency received notice.
A court petition and order, not an affidavit
Alabama summary distribution is a court regime. Any person, or a duly authorized person, entitled to an interest in a small estate may initiate the procedure by filing a verified petition in the office of the judge of probate of the county where the decedent was domiciled at death. No bond is required. If the decedent died with a self-proved will, it shall be filed with the petition. On a finding that the division's requirements are met, the judge of probate enters an order directing summary distribution, delineating the portion of the small estate that each person identified in the order is entitled to receive. The order is final and conclusive as to the items and matters shown, with appeals as from any other final decree in decedents' estate administration. On delivery of a copy of the judge's order, the persons entitled shall be entitled to have the decedent's property or the evidence of ownership transferred by any person owing money, holding personal property, or acting as registrar or transfer agent.
The old affidavit language in the prior section was struck in the rewrite. A build must never present Alabama as an affidavit state or reuse affidavit-state steps. The division is known as the Revised Alabama Small Estates Act, under Act 2025-431, House Bill 164 enrolled, effective October 1, 2025. The act amends sections 43-2-690 to 43-2-696, 43-8-40, and 43-8-252, and adds new sections. No transition clause was visible in the enrolled text read. Applicability to filings straddling October 1, 2025 is unopened and is disclosed as an open flag below. Do not apply the new text to a pre-October 2025 filing without a transition read.
Definitions and the exemption-adjusted test
The definitions below come from the enrolled bill text, whose strike and underline rendering garbles numbering. A clean codified re-read is owed, and the definitions are labeled accordingly.
"ESTATE" means all the personal property of a decedent who owns no real property at the time of death for which title does not pass by operation of law. Property passing by survivorship or beneficiary designation is outside the definition, because title passes by operation of law. It is not merely deducted. "SMALL ESTATE" means an estate having a value that does not exceed the small estate amount. "SMALL ESTATE AMOUNT" means the sum, as adjusted from time to time under the section 43-8-116 consumer price index formula, of the homestead allowance under section 43-8-110, exempt property under section 43-8-111, and family allowance under sections 43-8-112 and 43-8-113. "SUMMARY DISTRIBUTION" means the procedure in this division to distribute a small estate without the appointment of a personal representative.
The valuation section, as numbered in the enrolled bill, states that the small estate amount shall at all times be equal to the combined maximum amount of the homestead allowance, exempt property, and family allowance provided under sections 43-8-110 through 43-8-113, as adjusted under section 43-8-116. There is no flat dollar figure in the current statute. The figure is a formula. This guide states no flat cap as current law. Whether liens, encumbrances, or debts reduce the value test, and what valuation date applies, was not opened in the sources read, and no computation rule beyond the formula is stated. Do not import a less-liens or net-probate-value arithmetic from another state.
"DECEDENT," as rendered in the enrolled bill, means a deceased person who is not survived by a minor child who is not the child of the surviving spouse, if any, and whose estate is subject to summary distribution under this division. That scope exclusion for a minor child who is not the surviving spouse's child must be confirmed against clean codified text before it is relied on. "SURVIVING SPOUSE" excludes a person claiming common-law spouse status, whether the alleged common-law marriage occurred before or after January 1, 2017, and is tied to section 43-8-252, which as amended excludes persons in three divorce, annulment, and remarriage situations stated in the text.
The Treasurer table: components with dates, trigger unconfirmed
The State Treasurer's consumer price index page states the adjustment mechanism: on July 1, 2017 and at the end of each three-year period thereafter, the State Treasurer adjusts each dollar amount by the cumulative consumer price index change for the three-year period ending the preceding December 31, rounded to the nearest $25. The adjusted amounts apply to exemptions claimed on or after April 1 following the adjustment date.
The Treasurer table gives the components as follows: homestead exemption $18,800 at July 1, 2023, rising to $20,475 at July 1, 2026; family allowance $18,800 at July 1, 2023, rising to $20,475 at July 1, 2026; personal property exemption $9,400 at July 1, 2023, rising to $10,225 at July 1, 2026. The arithmetic from those components is $47,000 for the 2023 adjustment and $51,175 for the 2026 adjustment. Those combined figures are arithmetic from the table, not figures stated in the statute, and they are labeled as such here. Whether the small-estate amount follows the same "claimed on or after April 1" trigger, or the adjustment date, or the petition filing date, is not stated in the sources read. The $47,000 figure is framed in the sources as applying to exemptions claimed on or after April 1, 2024 through March 31, 2027, and $51,175 to exemptions claimed on or after April 1, 2027. Confirm the trigger from clean codified text or a Comptroller or Treasurer confirmation before stating either combined figure as "the" current limit without its date rule. A build-time re-check of the Treasurer page is owed, because its crawl predates this guide.
Stale figure families must never be carried. The $25,000 figure plus an annual Finance Director adjustment belongs to the pre-October 2025 regime and states repealed law. The $37,075, $37,050, $36,030, and $34,611 figures from secondaries are annual consumer price index figures under the old $25,000-base regime, mutually inconsistent, and superseded October 1, 2025. The $3,000 figure and the 45-day plus three-week publication pattern belong to the 2006 code and are doubly superseded.
The petition: eleven allegations
The petition must allege eleven matters, as rendered in the enrolled bill text, subject to the clean-text re-read flag. First, the decedent died domiciled in this state and in the filing county. Second, the estate is a small estate. Third, a description of the personal property and its value. Fourth, no personal representative appointment petition is pending or granted. Fifth, the name, address, age, capacity, and relationship of the petitioner, each person entitled under descent and distribution, and each person entitled under any will filed, where capacity means age 19 or older and of sound mind. Sixth, if survived by a spouse, the spouse is entitled to the estate. Seventh, if no surviving spouse and no self-proved will disposing of all of the small estate, the names and shares of descent-and-distribution takers. Eighth, whether the decedent died with a will. Ninth, if no surviving spouse plus a self-proved will, the names and shares or interests of will takers. Tenth, funeral expenses paid or arrangements made by or on behalf of the petitioner. Eleventh, all claims paid or arrangements made by the petitioner. The new petition allegations carry no priority order on their face. Whether any claims-priority rule survives in current law is unopened and is not stated here.
Notice and the two 30-day gates
On filing, two notice steps apply together. First, notice must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the domicile county, or posted at the county courthouse for one week if no such newspaper exists. Second, the petitioner shall notify the Alabama Medicaid Agency as provided in the section cited in the enrolled bill, and provide proof of notice to the probate court. The cross-reference in the enrolled bill is anomalous: the bill cites the valuation section for the Medicaid notice mechanics, while the valuation section states the formula, not notice mechanics. A Comptroller memorandum cites a different section number, section 43-2-696.02, for the valuation rule, which suggests codification renumbered the bill's new sections. Do not assert a codified section number from the bill alone. The current Medicaid notice contents, mailing method, portal, and address are unopened at current codification. Pre-2025 notice mechanics, including certified mail to a Montgomery post office box and an electronic system with a serialized certificate, belong to the pre-rewrite lane and must not be carried as current without a clean re-read.
The probate court shall not enter a summary-distribution order unless at least 30 days have elapsed since publication, at least 30 days have elapsed since the Medicaid Agency received notice, and it appears all conditions in the subsection are met and the petition is due to be granted. There is no 30-days-since-death condition in the new text. Secondaries stating one state superseded law or conflate the two 30-day gates. Current publication is once plus the one-week courthouse posting fallback, not three weeks.
Distribution, allowances, and effect
During pendency, a person entitled to the homestead allowance, exempt property, or family allowance may file a verified petition in the probate office, and the court on review and approval may order disbursement of the exemption and allowances from the small estate. The remainder, for a decedent domiciled in Alabama at death meeting all division conditions, is distributed in a ladder: to the surviving spouse; if a self-proved will exists and no surviving spouse, to will takers plus descent-and-distribution takers for the undisposed part; if no surviving spouse and no self-proved will, to descent-and-distribution takers. The allowances are claimed by separate verified petition during pendency and disbursed first. The remainder follows the ladder. The allowances' dollar values are the same three figures that compose the cap, but the cap test and the allowance claims are different operations. Never state the cap as "the allowances" or vice versa.
The defeasible right to summary distribution is subject only to any preexisting rights to administer the estate or probate the will, or to the superior rights of any other person to the personal property. A person making payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance under an order for summary distribution is discharged and released as if the payment had been made to a personal representative, and need not see to the application of the property or inquire into the truth of petition statements. Refusal may be compelled by action on proof of the defeasible right under the sections cited in the enrolled bill. The recipient is answerable and accountable to any personal representative, the surviving spouse or minor children, or any person with a superior right.
Fraud relief appears in the bill as a new section. If fraud was perpetrated in a proceeding or statement under the division, or to avoid or circumvent it, an injured person may obtain relief or restitution against the perpetrator or any non-bona-fide-purchaser beneficiary. Suit must be brought within one year after discovery, or when fraud should have been discovered, and no proceeding against a non-perpetrator may be brought later than five years after commission. The section has no effect on fraud-against-the-decedent-during-lifetime remedies. Its codified number is subject to the same renumbering uncertainty as the valuation section, and this guide cites it by its bill position, not by an asserted codified number. If the estate qualifies as a small estate, summary-distribution proceedings under Division 10 are available to it, under the new section 43-8-23 as numbered in the bill.
What this guide does not state
No probate filing fee or court costs figure is stated, and no county petition form is named, because none appears in the statute sections read and the fee schedule is a first-open. No vehicle-only procedure is stated, because the Department of Revenue title-transfer page and any next-of-kin affidavit form were not opened. No claims-priority ladder is stated, because the old ladder appears in struck text and its survival is unopened. No valuation-date or debt-deduction rule is stated, because the value-test computation is unopened beyond the formula.
For small-estate procedures in other states, see the Small Estate Affidavits by State directory. For the questions each state's procedure answers, see Small Estate Affidavit Questions.
Source
Sources: Act 2025-431, House Bill 164 enrolled text, LegiScan mirror, read in full; Alabama State Treasurer consumer price index information page; Alabama Department of Finance, Office of the State Comptroller memorandum, September 24, 2026. Facts verified 2026-10-31. Open flags: (1) transition and applicability for filings straddling October 1, 2025 were not opened; (2) clean codified text of sections 43-2-690 to 43-2-698 was not re-read, so definitions numbering, the decedent exclusion, and the petition allegation list rest on enrolled-bill rendering; (3) codified section numbers and current Medicaid-notice mechanics were not reconciled, and the enrolled bill's Medicaid cross-reference is anomalous; (4) the figure applicability trigger for the combined Treasurer-table arithmetic was not confirmed, and the Treasurer page crawl predates this guide; (5) claims-priority survival, value-test computation, vehicle-only procedure, fees, and forms were not opened, so none are stated.
This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to the Alabama probate court or a lawyer.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.