How Does a Colorado Small Estate Affidavit Work?
Colorado uses form JDF 999 under C.R.S. 15-12-1201. A successor presents the notarized affidavit, with a death certificate attached, to each holder after 10 days. Nothing is filed with the court. The cap follows the year of death: $88,000 for a 2026 death.
The Colorado rule in one table
| Question | Colorado rule |
|---|---|
| Statute and form | C.R.S. 15-12-1201 and 15-12-1202; Judicial Branch form JDF 999, with guide JDF 998. |
| Wait | At least 10 days have elapsed since the date of death. |
| Value test | Fair market value at death, wherever located, less liens, must not exceed twice the section 15-11-403 amount, as adjusted by section 15-10-112. |
| Cap by year of death | 2026: $88,000. 2025: $86,000. 2024: $82,000. 2023: $80,000. 2022: $74,000. 2020 and 2021: $70,000. |
| Estate-wide test | Real property value counts toward the cap, even though the affidavit cannot transfer real estate. |
| Channel | Not filed with the court. Presented to each holder. Notarized, with a death certificate attached. |
| Filing fee | No filing fee. There is no court filing to pay for. |
| Vehicles | DMV will not accept JDF 999. Use form DR 2712. |
The formula cap, and why the year of death controls
Colorado does not state a single fixed dollar cap in section 15-12-1201. The statute states a formula: twice the amount set forth in section 15-11-403, as adjusted by section 15-10-112. Form JDF 999 turns that formula into a year-by-year figure. The year that controls is the year the decedent died, not the year the affidavit is signed or presented. A death in December 2025 uses $86,000 even if the family presents the affidavit in 2026. A death in 2026 uses $88,000. Use the row for the death year, and do not borrow a later year's higher figure for an earlier death.
The value test is estate-wide. The statute counts fair market value of all property subject to disposition by will or intestate succession at death, wherever located, less liens and encumbrances. Real property value counts toward that total even though the affidavit cannot transfer real estate. An estate that includes a house will usually exceed the cap on the house value alone. Count everything the statute counts, subtract liens and encumbrances, and compare to the death-year figure.
What the affidavit must state
Under section 15-12-1201(1), the affidavit, made by or on behalf of a successor, must state four things. The fair market value test is met. At least 10 days have elapsed since death. No application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted in any jurisdiction. Each person is entitled to payment or delivery of the property as set forth in the affidavit. A person indebted to the decedent or holding personal property, including funds on deposit, safe deposit box contents, tangible personal property, or an instrument evidencing a debt, obligation, stock, chose in action, or stock brand, must then pay or deliver the property to the successor.
Under subsection (1.5), an instrument or other property payable to the decedent or the estate counts as the decedent's property, and a successor may endorse such an instrument and collect the amount. Under subsection (3), a public official with cognizance over registered title to personal property must change registered ownership on presentation of the affidavit. The vehicle exception sits on top of that rule: the DMV requires form DR 2712 and will not accept JDF 999 for a vehicle title.
The secured-indebtedness fork is subsection (3.5). Where an instrument or evidence of indebtedness is secured by real property, and the affiant wants to act for the holder of the indebtedness secured by a mortgage, deed of trust, or other security document, the affiant must record a copy of the affidavit and a copy of the death certificate or verification of death with the clerk and recorder where the real property sits. That is the only recording step in the ordinary JDF 999 procedure, and it applies only to this fork. Do not record the affidavit with a court as a matter of course. There is no court filing.
How to use the form
Complete form JDF 999, sign it before a notary, and attach a death certificate. Present it to each holder separately: each bank and financial institution keeps a copy. Guide JDF 998 explains how to complete the affidavit and states the process needs no court filing. A person who collects property for successors acts as their agent, with an agent's duties, and must distribute the property as the affidavit specifies.
If a holder refuses, section 15-12-1202 supplies the answer. A holder who pays, delivers, transfers, or issues property under the affidavit is discharged and released to the same extent as if it had dealt with a personal representative, and is not required to see to the application of the property or to inquire into the truth of any statement in the affidavit. If a holder refuses, the property may be recovered, or its payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance compelled, on proof of the right of the persons entitled to it, in a proceeding brought for that purpose. If proof of right is established in such a proceeding, a holder who refused without reasonable cause is liable for all costs, including reasonable attorney fees and costs. The holder bears the burden of proving reasonable cause by a preponderance of the evidence. Fee-shifting therefore follows proof of right and an absence of reasonable cause. It is not automatic on refusal alone.
What this guide does not state
The official Legislature text of sections 15-12-1201 and 15-12-1202 was read through a republication, not the legislature's own site. That is an open flag, stated below. The year-by-year figures are the JDF 999 figures as corroborated in research for this guide. JDF 998 is the court guide source. If legislature text and form figures ever point in different directions, the statute formula governs and the death-year figure must be checked against the current form revision, noted in research as April 28, 2026 for JDF 999. Use the current Judicial Branch form, not an old copy.
See the Small Estate Affidavits by State directory for the other state procedures.
Source
- C.R.S. 15-12-1201, Colorado Public Law republication (formula cap, 10-day wait, no personal representative petition, secured-indebtedness recording fork, and safe deposit box rule read 2026-10-31; no change found)
- C.R.S. 15-12-1202, search read (release, compulsion proceeding, and refusal fee-shifting confirmed in search text; full republication page not opened this run)
- Colorado small estate affidavit summary, ClearLegalTips (secondary summary, search read; corroborates JDF 999 revised April 28, 2026, the year-of-death table including $88,000 for 2026, no court filing, notarization, death certificate, and the DR 2712 vehicle rule; the Judicial Branch form PDFs were not opened this run)
- Open flag: the statute was read via republication (colorado.public.law). The official legislature text re-open is a build-time flag. The Judicial Branch JDF 998/999 PDFs were not opened this run; use the current Judicial Branch forms.
- Facts verified 2026-10-31.
This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to your state motor vehicle agency or court.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.