How to Change Your Name on a Colorado Driver License
A name change on a Colorado driver license, permit, or ID card is an in-person transaction at a state driver license office, and it cannot be done online. The order is fixed by the DMV's own rule: all name changes must be on file with the Social Security Administration before visiting a driver license office, because the DMV verifies the name electronically against Social Security records. Bring the certified original document that proves the change — a certified marriage certificate, a certified civil union certificate, or a court order — plus proof of residency. The name on the new credential must match the Social Security card exactly.
Before the visit: Social Security, then the wait
Update the Social Security record first, using the certified marriage certificate, civil union certificate, or court order as proof. The DMV verifies the name against the Social Security database, so arriving before the update has propagated means arriving twice. The county checklist used for the marriage guide says to allow at least 24 hours after the Social Security visit; the DMV's guidance allows 24 to 48 business hours for processing. Build the gap into the plan. Book an appointment for the driver license office: state offices operate primarily by appointment, with limited walk-in availability.
At the office: what to bring and what changes
Bring the certified original proving document and proof of residency. The office can change the last name on the strength of a certified marriage or civil union license — replacing the current last name with the spouse's last name, all or part of a two-part last name, or a hyphenated combination — and it cannot change a first name without a court order. The name must match the Social Security card. You will purchase a new license, permit, or identification card; the fee amount is not stated on the pages opened for this guide, so confirm it at the office, and bring cash or a check if the office's payment options are in doubt. The new credential is mailed within 30 days. A paper temporary credential is issued at the visit where the office provides one; carry it with the expired credential where instructed until the card arrives.
What the license change does not do
Changing the name on the driver license does not change the name on the vehicle title or registration, the voter registration, or the passport. The DMV's name-change page covers connecting name changes on the required documents when getting a credential and when updating a vehicle title or registration — separate transactions with separate document requirements, covered on the name-on-title page. Update each record separately, starting from the court order or certificate and the updated Social Security record.
Source
In-person requirement from the Colorado DMV driver license renewal page (name changes required in person), opened via search 2026-10-30. Social Security-first rule, certified-original requirement, last-name-only rule, and 30-day mailing from the Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder Name Change Checklist and secondary reporting of the DMV name-change page, opened 2026-10-30. Credential fee amount: not stated on the pages opened. DMV name-change page tab contents were not extracted in the crawl; only the page's stated scope is carried. This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to your state motor vehicle agency or court.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.