Kansas Small Estate Affidavit
Kansas law uses a holder-presented affidavit with no court filing, bond, waiting period, or debt condition in the statute text. The test counts total assets subject to probate, at $75,000 or less, while the transfer mechanism reaches personal property only. The current February 2024 Judicial Council form carries $75,000 throughout, and it is presented to the holder, not filed with a court, matching the statute text as read.
The statute: section 59-1507b
The statute's trigger is a Kansas resident decedent. The section begins, "When a resident of the state dies, whether testate or intestate." A nonresident decedent with Kansas property is not covered by the text as read. A build must not extend the track to nonresidents without a separate grounding read.
The cap test in subsection (a) reads that the total assets of the estate of the decedent subject to probate do not exceed $75,000 in value. The test is total assets subject to probate. It is not personal-property-only, and it is not net of debts or liens, because the section states no deduction. Never state a net cap, a personal-only cap, or a real-property exclusion from the cap test. Secondary claims that the cap excludes real estate were not carried.
The mechanism is holder-presented. Any personal property of whatever nature transferable to the decedent's estate by any entity or person shall be transferred to a person claiming to be a successor of the decedent, or in a manner as directed by the successor, without having been granted letters of administration or letters testamentary, upon the successor furnishing the entity or person with an affidavit showing entitlement. The transfer mechanism reaches personal property only. The cap test is whole-estate and the transfer scope is personal-property-only, and the two must be kept distinct.
No court filing, no clerk, no bond, no waiting period, no pending-letters condition, and no debt-payment condition appear anywhere in the section. Those absences are in-text, because the whole section is one short paragraph plus the definition. Never import a wait, a filing, a bond, or a debt averment from sibling states or from the old form.
Effect and form are stated in subsection (b). Transfer shall be deemed to be a transfer to the personal representative of the decedent, and the receipt of the successor or successors shall constitute a full discharge and release from any further claim for the transfer, to the same extent as if the transfer had been made to an executor or administrator. The affidavit shall be deemed sufficient if in substantial compliance with the form set forth by the Judicial Council. The form is the Judicial Council's, and substantial compliance is the statutory standard. No form number appears in the section.
"Successor" is defined in subsection (c) as a person entitled to the property by will or by intestate succession, or nominated as a personal representative under the decedent's will. The second prong is distinctive: a will-nominated personal representative who is not otherwise entitled to the property still counts as a successor for this section. Never reduce "successor" to heir or devisee only.
History on the section reads through Laws 2024, chapter 35, section 2, and the $75,000 figure dates to House Bill 2130 in 2023, chapter 77. What the 2024 amendment changed is not stated in the history line and was not attributed in the banked research. No amendment history beyond the history line is stated here.
The current form: February 2024, $75,000 throughout
The current Kansas Judicial Council affidavit form was located on the Council's own site and read in full. It is the February 2024 revision, it is headed for estates under $75,000 under section 59-1507b, and it carries the $75,000 figure throughout. The only other dollar figure in the document is the historical $40,000 in its notes, recording that the amount rose from $40,000 to $75,000 effective July 1, 2023. The statute-versus-form conflict feared in the earlier research does not exist on the current form. Every form copy still stating $40,000 as the current figure is a superseded copy and must never be cited. A July 2023 revision copy circulating via third-party mirrors is superseded by the February 2024 revision.
The form's statements are form contents, never statute requirements, and this guide labels them as such. The form's averments include the decedent's death date and place, a testate or intestate check, the statement that the probate estate does not exceed $75,000, and the statement that a certified copy of the death certificate is attached. A second averment states that no petition for appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted in any jurisdiction, and that no other person has a prior right to the estate. A third averment states that all of the decedent's debts, including taxes, have been paid or otherwise provided for, with no unpaid claims against the estate. A fourth averment is a table of the beneficiaries under the will or heirs, with name, age, relationship, and address columns. A fifth averment gives a complete list of all property subject to transfer under the affidavit, including all vehicles, with description, location, and value, plus a vehicle subsection collecting year, make, model, body style, vehicle identification number, title number, lien status and lien-holder details, odometer reading, and a lien-holder acknowledgment area. A sixth averment states that the person making the affidavit is a distributee as defined in section 59-1507b and entitled to succeed to the property as indicated.
Two label cautions apply. First, the statute defines "successor," including the will-nominated personal representative prong, while the form uses "distributee." This guide does not silently equate the two labels. Second, the form's averments on no pending appointment and on debts paid, and its apportionment and liability agreement stating that the recipient is personally liable for the estate's debts, taxes, and claims to the extent of the value received, are form contents only. They appear nowhere in section 59-1507b as read. A sentence attributing them to the statute is wrong on the primary text.
Filing: holder presentation, not court filing
The form is presented to the holder of the property, and for a vehicle title to the Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles, per the form's Notes on Use. The Council form page states the form is not filed with the court. The statute text as read likewise describes a holder or entity-presented affidavit with no court filing, clerk, bond, waiting period, or debt condition anywhere in the section. A banked closure read on 2026-11-02 reported a district-court filing direction in the notes; the build-time live re-read of the same form page and PDF on 2026-11-02 found no such direction and found the opposite statement on the form page. This guide follows the build-time re-read and records the disagreement here rather than stating a filing conflict that the live text does not support. The notes also state that the affidavit transfers title to personal property when the total value of the estate subject to probate is $75,000 or less, that it is presented as a simple method without formal probate proceedings, and that it says nothing about real property and nothing further about exclusions from the value test beyond the probate-estate phrasing. No exclusion is added here.
The notes also close the vehicle lane in part. The affidavit can transfer vehicle title if vehicle information is included, can be used in place of the Kansas Department of Revenue Form TR-83b, Claim of Heir, and must be accompanied by the vehicle title if available and any lien release if applicable. That substitution is grounded in the current form itself. The separate Department of Revenue vehicle-title procedure beyond the form remains ungrounded and is not carried. Neither the form page nor the form states a fee, and no fee figure is carried for Kansas.
The other track: refusal of letters, section 59-2287
Refusal of letters is a discretionary court track, the opposite channel from the holder-presented affidavit, and it must never be merged with section 59-1507b. The district court, in its discretion, may refuse to grant letters in two cases only.
Track A applies where the value of real or personal property owned by the decedent is not greater in amount than is allowed by law as exempt property and the allowance to the surviving spouse or minor children under section 59-403. No dollar figure is carried for Track A, because section 59-403 was not read.
Track B applies where the real and personal estate of the decedent does not exceed $75,000 and the estate is not subject to allowances under section 59-403, or such allowances are waived. Then any heir, devisee, legatee, creditor, or other interested person may petition for refusal of letters by giving bond in a sum of not less than the value of the estate, court-approved, conditioned on paying the decedent's debts in preference order so far as assets permit and distributing the balance to persons entitled. Real estate sold under the section shall be deemed to have marketable title as ordered by the court, and no creditor, heir, or other person shall be deemed to have an interest after six months following the date of death. The $75,000 figure in Track B is a different test from the section 59-1507b test: real plus personal estate, allowances absent or waived, bond, and court order. Same figure, different job. Label each use.
Proof of value and nature may be allowed by or on behalf of the surviving spouse or minor children. When further proceedings appear unnecessary, the court enters a termination order, without notice unless ordered otherwise, dispensing with further settlements and proceedings unless further estate is discovered, and relieving the spouse or minor children of further obligations. Administration on later-discovered estate does not abrogate rights, title, or interests already transferred or vested under the section unless the court for good cause shown otherwise determines and orders. A will filed under the section within six months after death may be admitted to probate after that six-month period. The $75,000 Track B figure likewise dates to House Bill 2130 in 2023. Pre-2023 $50,000 figures in republications and secondaries are stale and are never carried.
What this guide does not state
Section 59-403 was not opened, so no exempt-property or allowance figure is stated. The 2024 chapter 35 amendment content was not read, so no amendment history is stated. The separate Department of Revenue vehicle procedure beyond the form, and the transfer-on-death deed provisions, were not opened. No fee is stated.
For small-estate procedures in other states, see the Small Estate Affidavits by State directory. For the questions each state's procedure answers, see Small Estate Affidavit Questions.
Source
Sources: Kansas Statutes Annotated sections 59-1507b and 59-2287, Kansas State Legislature texts read in full; Revisor bill brief on House Bill 2130 as legislative corroboration; Kansas Judicial Council small-estates affidavit form, February 2024 revision, Council PDF read in full, with the Council forms page. Facts verified 2026-10-31, with the form read 2026-11-02. Open flags: (1) section 59-403 was not opened, so no exempt-property or allowance figure is stated; (2) the Laws 2024, chapter 35 amendment content was not read; (3) a banked closure read reported a district-court filing direction in the form notes, but the build-time live re-read on 2026-11-02 found the form page states the form is not filed with the court and the notes direct holder presentation; this guide follows the re-read and records the disagreement; (4) the separate Department of Revenue vehicle-title procedure was not opened; (5) the docx version of the Council form was not opened or compared, and this guide cites the PDF only; (6) no fee is stated, because neither the form page nor the form states one.
This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to the Kansas district court or a lawyer.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.