Mississippi Small Estate Affidavit
Mississippi law lets a holder pay or deliver tangible personal property and instruments to a successor on presentation of an affidavit, after 30 days, where the entire probate estate wherever located, excluding all liens and encumbrances, does not exceed $75,000. The affidavit is presented to the holder, not filed with a court. The current section states six affidavit statements. The successor list in subsection (2) is not stated in this guide, because two live reads of the current Justia 2025 text disagreed on its limbs; the conflict is recorded in the successor section below.
The affidavit lane (section 91-7-322)
Except as otherwise provided by sections 81-5-63, 81-12-135, 81-12-137, and 91-7-323, at any time after 30 days from the death of a decedent, any person indebted to the decedent or having possession of tangible personal property or an instrument evidencing a debt, obligation, stock, or chose in action belonging to the decedent shall make payment when due of the indebtedness or deliver the property or instrument to a person claiming to be the successor of the decedent, on presentation of an affidavit made by the successor. The duty verb is mandatory. The holder is not given discretion to demand more.
The affidavit states six statements, (a) to (f). Statement (a) reads, verbatim: "That the value of the entire probate estate of the decedent, wherever located, excluding all liens and encumbrances thereon, does not exceed Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00);" Statements (b) to (d) state that at least 30 days have elapsed since death, that no application or petition for appointment of a personal representative is pending and none has been appointed in any jurisdiction, and the facts of relationship establishing the affiant as a successor. Statements (e) and (f) are stated here only in the paraphrase banked from the 2025 text: (e) manner of distribution, and (f) acknowledgment of the obligation to distribute to those with a superior right. Their verbatim wording is not recorded here and must be checked in the current section text before being quoted. An earlier four-statement version of this section is dead law. A source that prints four statements states the pre-amendment text.
The section states no valuation date and no valuation method beyond "excluding all liens and encumbrances." It states no rule for unsecured debts. Secondary guidance that values the estate as of the date of death and ignores unsecured debts is not in the section text and is not stated here as statute. The scope of "entire probate estate" is unresolved in the section text, and no statement about non-probate assets is made here.
Who is a successor (subsection (2)): list not stated, conflicting reads
No successor list is stated in this guide. Two live reads of the current Justia 2025 text of subsection (2) disagreed materially: a closure read on 2026-11-02 reported four limbs in order, spouse, then any child, then any grandchild, then either parent or any siblings, with no descendants-per-stirpes limb and no heirs-at-law fallback; the build-time re-read of the same page on 2026-11-02 reported four different limbs, spouse, then distributees entitled under the laws of descent and distribution (with a 40-day condition if the surviving spouse has not filed), then persons entitled under the will, then a creditor. Because the two reads cannot both be the current text, this guide states neither list and no successor order. Check subsection (2) in the current section text before relying on any successor order. The 2019 list with a descendants-per-stirpes limb and a heirs-at-law fallback, and the pre-2019 list with an adult-with-minor-children limb, both still circulate in secondary material and are not relied on here.
A minor or incapacitated adult successor may be represented by a guardian, natural or appointed, conservator, custodian, or other personal representative, as appointed by the court or by power of attorney. That representative receives property and payments for the sole use and benefit of the minor or incapacitated adult, except as otherwise provided in sections 93-20-209 and 93-20-431. Those two sections were not opened. This guide states only that the exception exists and does not gloss its contents.
On complying with subsection (1), the successor is empowered to negotiate, transfer ownership, and exercise all other incidents of ownership over the personal property and instruments described in subsection (1). A person who pays, delivers, transfers, or issues under subsection (1) is discharged and released to the same extent as if that person had dealt with a personal representative, need not see to proper application of the property, and need not inquire into the truth of any affidavit statement. If the person refuses, the property, payment, delivery, or issuance may be recovered or compelled on proof of the successor's right in a proceeding brought in chancery court. A person to whom payment, delivery, or issuance is made is answerable and accountable to the personal representative of the estate, if any, or to any other person having a superior right.
Absences in the section
No notarization requirement, no death-certificate attachment, no court filing, no publication, no creditor-notice or claims period, no inventory, no bond, no fee, and no statement about a will appear in section 91-7-322. None may be imported from secondaries, forms, or sibling states. The section is silent on whether a testate estate may use the affidavit. This guide states that silence and never a secondary's "intestate only" gloss. The affidavit delivers tangible personal property and instruments only. It transfers no real property. How real-property value counts toward the test is unresolved, and no gloss that the test excludes real property is stated as section text.
The $50,000 figure in any republication dated 2010 to 2020 is the pre-2020 figure. The $100,000 figure was proposed in introduced bills in 2019, 2020, and 2025 and was never enacted. An introduced bill's figure is never the law. The history line on the current text runs through Laws, 2020, ch. 343, section 7, effective July 1, 2020. No bill number is attributed to that chapter in this guide, because the bill-to-chapter attribution is unconfirmed.
Separate lanes that must not be merged
The safe-deposit box affidavit in section 81-5-64 is a different affidavit. On republication evidence it states a $50,000 test, a 180-day wait, and a narrower successor list: spouse, then any adult child, then either parent, then any adult sibling. It has its own statutory affidavit form, sworn and under penalty of perjury. No element of that lane may be carried into section 91-7-322, and no element of section 91-7-322 may be carried into it. Its current subsections on rights, responsibilities, and liability protections were not read in full.
The bank payment lane in section 81-5-63 and the savings-association provisions in sections 81-12-135 and 81-12-137 are named carve-outs in section 91-7-322(1). Their own rules govern their own payments. The $12,500 bank cap in section 81-5-63 does not cap the section 91-7-322 affidavit, and the affidavit does not raise the bank cap. The wages lane in section 91-7-323 has its own recipient order and is a standalone carve-out. Its order must never be merged with the section 91-7-322(2) list.
The muniment-of-title lane in section 91-5-35 is a court petition for real property, testate only, with a sworn petition, a debts-paid condition, and a test that cross-refers to the sum set forth in section 91-7-322. It is not the affidavit lane, and its procedure must never be printed as affidavit procedure. Its current text was not opened in full.
A separate vehicle form exists: Department of Revenue Form 78-014, Affidavit of Heirship for Motor Vehicle. Its conditions are narrower than section 91-7-322, and it belongs to the vehicle-title lane only. Its current revision and live filing route were not confirmed.
For small-estate procedures in other states, see the Small Estate Affidavits by State directory. For the questions each state's procedure answers, see Small Estate Affidavit Questions.
Source
Sources: Mississippi Code section 91-7-322, Justia 2025 edition read in full in the live browser 2026-11-02 (republication tier, not the official Legislature text); Justia 2019 and 2020 editions for the pre-amendment text; S.B. 2850 session-law summary and FormsPal verbatim quote as secondary corroboration of the $75,000 figure; sections 81-5-64, 81-5-63, 91-5-35, and 91-7-323 by republication and introduced-text evidence only. Facts verified 2026-11-01 and 2026-11-02. Open flags: (1) the official Mississippi Legislature codified text was not opened, so the figure is republication-current, not primary-verified; (2) statements (1)(e) and (f) verbatim wording was not banked and must be re-read verbatim; (3) the amending act for the six-statement rewrite is unpinned beyond the history line, and the subsection (2) successor list is in conflict between two live reads of the current text, so no list is stated; (4) the bill-to-chapter attribution for Laws, 2020, ch. 343 is unconfirmed and no bill number is stated; (5) current section 81-5-64 subsections on rights and liability were not read in full; (6) "entire probate estate" scope and valuation date are unresolved; (7) current section 81-5-63 successor definition, sections 81-12-135 and 81-12-137 full texts, and the credit-union rule were not opened; (8) current Form 78-014 revision and live filing route were not confirmed; (9) current section 91-5-35 text and applicability date were not opened; (10) current section 91-7-147 text was not opened; (11) current section 91-7-117 text and exempt-property items were not opened; (12) current sections 91-7-323, 325, and 327 were not opened in full; (13) no chancery-clerk fee schedule was checked, and the accurate primary statement is that the section prescribes no filing and no fee, not a verified "no fee" fact.
This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to the Mississippi chancery court or a lawyer.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.