Lien Sale Title Transfer in Texas
Texas does not use one lien sale form. A mechanic uses form VTR-265-M, a storage claimant uses form VTR-265-S, a licensed vehicle storage facility uses form VTR-265-VSF, and a self-service storage facility uses form VTR-265-SSF. Each form rests on Property Code Chapter 70 or Chapter 59, requires notice and a public sale, and lists the evidence for a title application on form 130-U. A bonded title is a separate path for a buyer with incomplete ownership evidence, and it does not cure a recorded lien that is less than 10 years old without a release.
The Texas framework
Texas lien sales sit at the meeting point of three bodies of law. Property Code Chapter 70 covers possessory liens, including worker and garageman liens. Property Code Chapter 59 covers self-service storage liens. Transportation Code Chapter 683 covers abandoned vehicles, garagekeeper reports, law enforcement custody, and auction. The TxDMV foreclosure forms, all revision 01/25, state which chapter applies, what notices were given, and what evidence must accompany the title application. This page follows the forms, rather than blending them.
A possessory lien rests on possession. A worker who by labor repairs a vehicle may retain possession until the contract amount, or reasonable and usual compensation where no amount is specified, is paid, under section 70.001. Property Code section 70.006 sets the sale procedure for a lienholder who retains possession of a motor vehicle subject to the Certificate of Title Act. The lienholder must give written notice to the owner and each holder of a lien recorded on the certificate of title. For a worker lien, other than a franchised dealer, a copy of the notice must be filed with the county tax assessor-collector where repairs were made, with a $25 administrative fee. If the vehicle is registered outside Texas, notice goes to the last known registered owner and each lienholder of record. Notice must be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, and must include the amount of charges and a request for payment, subject to the newspaper alternative in subsection 70.006(c).
Mechanic foreclosure, form VTR-265-M
Form VTR-265-M asks for the vehicle identification number, year, make, body style, and model, the shop and customer details, the date the vehicle was left, the date repairs were completed, and charges for parts, labor, and storage. A signed work order is required, with a copy submitted with the transfer. The form also requires a determination of where the vehicle was last registered.
The notice must include the repair address, the shop legal name, its taxpayer or employer identification number, and a copy of the signed work order, and, if applicable, a proposed sale date for a vehicle of 16,000 pounds or more. A copy of the notice, a copy of the work order, and a $25 fee must be filed with the county tax assessor-collector not later than 30 days after charges accrue, with a later filing rule for heavier vehicles taken into possession on or after September 1, 2021. Notice must also be sent to the work order address if it differs from the motor vehicle record. If storage fees are included, a second notice is required, form VTR-265-S must also be completed, and an original lien release is required if the verification indicates a recorded lien. Where that release condition applies and no release is available, the form states that foreclosure must be through a court of competent jurisdiction.
A public sale may be held on or after the 31st day after the notice copy or publication was filed, if charges remain unpaid. Proceeds are applied to the charges, and the balance is paid to the person entitled to it. The highest bidder must apply for title unless the purchaser is a licensed dealer with a current General Distinguishing Number. The evidence for transfer is form 130-U, form VTR-265-M, verification from the state of record, notification proof, the $25 fee receipt, insurance proof if registration is sought, the signed work order, and VIN certification for out of state vehicles. Newspaper publication instead of certified mail is permitted only where all conditions on the form are met.
Storage foreclosure, form VTR-265-S
Form VTR-265-S covers a storage facility or claimant, and cannot be used with a law enforcement authorized tow. Storage fees for law enforcement authorized tows may only be assessed by a licensed vehicle storage facility using form VTR-265-VSF. The form distinguishes consent possession, under a written, dated contract with an expiration date, from non-consent possession, under an ordinance or state law. Under consent, a Notice to Remove Vehicle is only required if more than 5 days of storage fees are assessed. Under non-consent, the notice and law enforcement notification are required regardless of days.
The Notice to Remove Vehicle must be sent within 5 days if registered in Texas, or 14 days if registered outside Texas, after the contract expires or after obtaining possession, to the last known owners and lienholders by certified mail, return receipt requested, with a request to remove the vehicle, a request for payment, the location, and the amount of charges. A vehicle is considered abandoned after the 10th day after the contract expires or after the 10th day after the notice. The facility must report it to law enforcement within 7 days of that determination. No storage fees may be assessed if law enforcement is notified after the 7th day, although other fees remain valid. A public sale may be held if charges are not paid and law enforcement does not take custody before the 31st day after notification. Notice of an intention to dispose counts as taking custody even without physical custody before the 31st day.
The evidence for transfer is form 130-U, form VTR-265-S, verification from the state of record, notification proof, law enforcement proof by $10 fee receipt, certification, or certified mail, a lien release if a lien appears on the verification, a written contract if possession was by consent, an ordinance copy if applicable, insurance proof, and VIN certification. The affidavit certifies compliance with Property Code Chapter 70 and Transportation Code Chapter 683.
Licensed facility and self-service storage foreclosures
Form VTR-265-VSF covers a facility licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, where possession followed a non-consent, law enforcement, or self-service storage tow. The provisions do not apply to a vehicle stored with the owner consent, as the form states. The First Notice must be made within 5 days if last registered in Texas, or 14 days if outside Texas. Storage fees cannot be assessed until this notice is made. A vehicle is considered abandoned on the 10th day after the First Notice. The facility must report it within 7 days if the agency requires notice. A Second Notice must be made on the 15th to 21st day after the First Notice, if the vehicle remains unclaimed and law enforcement has taken no action. A public sale may occur on or after the 31st day after the Second Notice or law enforcement notification, whichever is later. The evidence list is form 130-U, form VTR-265-VSF, verification, notification proof, law enforcement proof, insurance proof, VIN certification, and, where applicable, the rental agreement, notice of claim, and form VTR-265-SSF.
Form VTR-265-SSF covers a self-service storage facility under Property Code Chapter 59. It can be used only if there is a written lease addressing sale and disposition, signed by both parties, with the sale terms in conspicuous bold print. The lien is not enforceable unless sale and disposition is authorized in a written agreement. Three notices are required before a public sale, unless the vehicle is transferred to a licensed vehicle storage facility. The Notice of Claim must be sent by verified mail or email at least 15 days before the Notice of Sale or transfer. The Notice of Sale must be published in two consecutive weeks, or posted in five conspicuous locations, and cannot be made earlier than the 15th day after the Notice of Claim. Owner and lienholder notice must be sent by verified mail not later than 30 days after the facility took possession. A sale may occur on or after the later of the 31st day after owner notice, the 15th day of publication, or the 11th day if posted. Instead of a sale, the facility may transfer the vehicle to a licensed facility if the agreement authorizes it, notice of claim was given at least 15 days before transfer, and the facility agrees to accept it. In that case, the self-service lien is extinguished.
Abandoned auction and the bonded title boundary
Under Transportation Code Chapter 683, a law enforcement agency must send notice of abandonment by certified mail not later than the 10th day after custody or receipt of a report, to the last known owner and each recorded lienholder, specifying the vehicle details, the holding facility, and the right to claim not later than the 20th day after the notice on payment of towing, preservation, and storage or garagekeeper charges. If not claimed, the owner or lienholder waives all rights and consents to sale by public auction, and the agency may sell, with proper notice and with a garagekeeper lienholder notified of the time and place. The purchaser takes title free and clear, receives a sales receipt from the agency, and is entitled to register and receive a certificate of title. That free and clear statement is the auction statute statement, and it should not be read into a facility foreclosure, where the forms instead require a lien release where a recorded lien appears.
The bonded title boundary is separate, and it is stated only as TxDMV states it. A bonded title is for a person who receives incomplete or incorrect ownership evidence, or has lost it and cannot contact the seller. The applicant must be a Texas resident or military personnel stationed in Texas, the vehicle must be in the applicant possession, must not be junked, nonrepairable, or otherwise ineligible, and must be complete, including frame, body, and motor, or frame and motor for a motorcycle. The applicant files form VTR-130-SOF, ownership evidence, an original lien release or letter of no interest if the vehicle has a lien under 10 years old, and photo identification, with a $15 fee, at the Regional Service Center. TxDMV states a person is not eligible if unable to obtain a release or letter of no interest from a recorded lienholder of 10 years or less, and suggests consulting a lawyer for a court order. On approval, TxDMV issues form VTR-130-ND stating a bond amount equal to 1.5 times the vehicle value. The applicant has one year to purchase the bond and 30 days after purchase to apply with form 130-U at the county tax office.
In the sources own terms, a completed foreclosure with the evidence its form lists supports a title application for the highest bidder, subject to the lien release condition where a recorded lien appears. A bonded title does not cure a missing title where a recorded lien under 10 years old remains unreleased, because TxDMV states the applicant is not eligible in that circumstance. A buyer with only a bill of sale or auction receipt from a sale that was not a completed foreclosure or law enforcement auction should check which procedure was used and whether a release is obtainable, before paying for a bond or filing.
For the broader process, see the title transfers by state directory and the guide on how long a car title transfer takes. The overview is at lien sale title transfer, and the buyer checks are at buying a vehicle at a lien sale.
Source
Facts come from Texas Property Code section 70.006 on Texas Public Law; Texas Transportation Code sections 683.012, 683.014, and 683.031; TxDMV forms VTR-265-M, VTR-265-S, VTR-265-SSF, and VTR-265-VSF, revision 01/25; and the TxDMV page Bought a Vehicle Without a Title. Facts verified 2026-10-31. Open flags: the TxDMV Title Manual Chapter 23 was not opened; the Texas title fee on form 130-U is not stated on the forms read; the bonded title bond premium is not stated; the rule for a recorded lien older than 10 years is not stated beyond the release condition quoted.
This page explains how the process works and what the official rules say. It is general information, not legal advice. For a dispute about your specific situation, talk to your state motor vehicle agency or court.
Keep Exploring
Use the Workflow Library to browse more guides, comparisons, and integration examples to continue your evaluation.
See the solutions, comparisons, and integration guides collected in one place.
Review grounded audit, compare, fix-plan, and report excerpts before you wire the API into anything.
Jump from the workflow page into the quickstart, endpoint guides, and full OpenAPI reference.